Back to Top Health Information Links | The Ottawa Hospital Favourite Icon
 

Key Sources of Information

Ontario Wait Times http://www.health.gov.on.ca/en/public/programs/waittimes/
This Web site has information about wait times in Ontario. The wait times data available from this Web site allows you a compare the wait list / wait times in your area with those across the province. In discussions with your doctor, you can use this information to make more informed choices about where to receive treatment.

Mayo Clinic www.mayoclinic.org
Mayo Clinic offers award-winning medical and health information and tools for healthy living.

MedlinePlus (USA) medlineplus.gov
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from national Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Access to the Medline database.

Health Info from A to Z

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
ALS Society of Canada www.als.ca

Alzheimer Disease
Alzheimer Society of Canada www.alzheimer.ca

Arthritis
The Arthritis Society: www.arthritis.ca

Asthma
Asthma Society of Canada www.asthma.ca

Autism
Autism Society Canada www.autismcanada.org

Brain Injury
Ontario Brain Injury Association www.obia.on.ca
Brain Injury Association of America www.biausa.org
The Brain Matters www.brainmattersresearch.com
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) www.ninds.nih.gov

Cancer
Canadian Cancer Society www.cancer.ca
Cancerview Canada www.cancerview.ca
Cancer Care Ontario www.cancercare.on.ca/
CancerNet – American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) www.cancer.net
Ontario Cancer Trials www.ontario.canadiancancertrials.ca
American Cancer Society http://www.cancer.org/
National Cancer Institute www.cancer.gov/

Caregiving
Ontario Caregiver Coalition www.ontariocaregivercoalition.ca/

Clinical Practice Guidelines
CMA Infobase: Canadian Medical Association www.cma.ca/En/Pages/clinical-practice-guidelines.aspx
National Guideline Clearinghouse (USA) www.guideline.gov/

Clinical Trials
Cancer Trials Canada www.canadiancancertrials.ca
Clinical Trials.gov (USA) clinicaltrials.gov/

Community Services and Resources – Ottawa 
City of Ottawa www.ottawa.ca
Champlain Health Line www.champlainhealthline.ca
Community Information Centre of Ottawa Database https://ottawa.cioc.ca
Ottawa Community Care Access Centre www.healthcareathome.ca/champlain/en
Community Resources (TOH Social Work)

Complementary Therapies & Alternative Medicines
Natural Health Products Directorate – Health Canada www.hc-sc.gc.ca/dhp-mps/prodnatur/index_e.html
National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine nccam.nih.gov

Cystic Fibrosis
Canadian Cystic Fibrosis Foundation www.cysticfibrosis.ca

Diabetes
Canadian Diabetes Association www.diabetes.ca 
American Diabetes Association www.diabetes.org

Disability
Resource Centre – TOH Rehabilitation Centre 
Ontario Disability Support Program www.mcss.gov.on.ca

Eating Disorders
www.nedic.ca

Epilepsy
Epilepsy Canada www.epilepsy.ca

Heart Disease
Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada www.heartandstroke.ca
American Heart Association www.heart.org

HIV and AIDS
Canadian AIDS Treatment Information Exchange www.catie.ca
Canadian Aids Society www.cdnaids.ca

Kidney Disease
Kidney Foundation of Canada www.kidney.ca

Liver Disease
Canadian Liver Foundation www.liver.ca

Menopause
Healthy Women.org www.healthywomen.org 
Women’s Health Matters www.womenshealthmatters.ca/

Mental Health
Canadian Mental Health Association www.cmha.ca
Mental Health Crisis Line of Eastern Ontario www.crisisline.ca
Ottawa’s Online Mental Health Resource Directory & Events Calendar www.ementalhealth.ca

Multilingual and Multicultural Health Resources
British Columbia Ministry of Health www.bchealthguide.org/healthfiles/bilingua/index.stm 
Settlement Org www.settlement.org/translated-information/
MedlinePlus – Spanish medlineplus.gov/spanish/
EthnoMed – University of Washington ethnomed.org
Stanford University Health Library http://healthlibrary.stanford.edu/

Multiple Sclerosis
MS Society of Canada www.mssociety.ca

Muscular Dystrophy
Muscular Dystrophy Association of Canada www.muscle.ca

Nutrition
Dietitians of Canada www.dietitians.ca

Osteoporosis
Osteoporosis Canada www.osteoporosis.ca

Pain
Canadian Pain Society
Canadian Pain Coalition

Palliative Care
Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association www.chpca.net
Canadian Virtual Hospice www.virtualhospice.ca
Champlain Regional Hospice Palliative Care Program http://champlainhealthline.ca/listCategories.aspx?id=10020

Parkinson Disease
Parkinson Society of Canada www.parkinson.ca

Pregnancy 
Women’s Health Matters www.womenshealthmatters.ca

Radiology for patients – Canadian Association of Radiologists
http://www.car.ca/en/patient-info.aspx

Sexual Assault and Partner Abuse (Domestic Violence) 
Distress Centre, Ottawa and Region www.dcottawa.on.ca
Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre www.orcc.net
Sexual Assault and Partner Abuse Care Program (TOH)
Resources and 24-Hour Help Lines

Smoking Cessation
Heart Institute – Quit Smoking Program www.ottawaheart.ca/clinic/quit-smoking-program
Canadian Cancer Society Smokers Helpline Online www.smokershelpline.ca
City of Ottawa .Quitting Smoking Programs www.ottawa.ca/en/residents/public-health/healthy-living/quitting-smoking

Stroke
Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada www.heartandstroke.ca
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) www.ninds.nih.gov

Thyroid
Thyroid Foundation of Canada www.thyroid.ca

Tourette Syndrome
Tourette Syndrome Foundation of Canada www.tourette.ca

Vascular Diseases and Conditions
American Heart Association www.heart.org
Vascular Disease Foundation www.vdf.org

Women’s Health
Women’s Health Matters www.womenshealthmatters.ca
Shirley E. Greenberg Women’s Health Centre (TOH)